Jennie Stokum

Relationship: Client

Project Date: December 2016

Project Price: $50,000 - $100,000

Highly recommend!!!!!

Mathis Custom remodeling did a full remodeling job of my late father's house in San Diego. I was initially hesitant as I live in New York and would not be able to oversee the project directly. Raelene and her husband Phil were exceptionally professional, attentive to detail, and treated my house as if it was their own. They had wonderful suggestions for updating my 1962 ranch style house to modern standards while still incorporating much of the house's original charm. Their communication with me was excellent, with weekly reports and photos, as well as promptly responding to all my questions and concerns. They respected my budget and my taste while offering many suggestions for small improvements that made a huge difference. Everyone who has seen the house comments that it's like a brand new house. Thank you again!

Read More

 Like    January 18, 2017

Comment from Mathis Custom Remodeling

Thank you so much for the great review, this was a fun project and we also think it turned out great!

January 24, 2017

Martin Armstrong

Relationship: Client

Project Date: April 2016

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

I found Mathis Custom Remodeling to be an excellent company to work with when we decided to remodel our master bathroom. They worked closely with us on the design, and accommodated various changes and add ons as the project progressed with ease. They were thoroughly professional throughout the project, and I would be very happy to recommend them to anyone seeking to remodel their own bathrooms.

 Like    November 3, 2016

ronmathmd

Relationship: Client

Project Date: February 2016

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

Complete Jack and Jill bathroom remodel inc complete demo down to studs, taking down a wall, moving plumbing, converting shower to new bathtub, new toilet, electrical, dry wall, tile, installing an exterior window, new custom vanity, lighting.

Phil and Raelene did an excellent job overall. Phil is very detail oriented and did most of the work himself, and this is why I chose Mathis Custom Remodeling over one of the "big guys". Phil subcontracted the electrical, drywall, cabinets, and tile, but oversaw everything. As issues arose, they were quick to find solutions. We couldn't be happier with the final product. Phil was very pleasant to interact with, and very considerate about keeping our house as clean as possible. The subs were equally respectful.

My wife was pregnant during the construction with a difficult pregnancy, and Phil did a great job managing her "pregnancy emotions/hormones" during the project. Every little issue seemed to bother my wife to no end, but the end result is great, and we are very happy... Esp now since the baby is born. :)

There were several unforeseen delays due to us changing the tile choice and cabinet choice, and things could have been done more efficiently if we had a detailed design and product choice at the beginning. If you choose to use Phil and Raelene, I'd recommend working out every detail before getting started. Then the project will be done more quickly. Since they are a husband and wife team, they do not have the same resources as the "big guys" but their price is much more fair and about 2/3rds what we were quoted by the "big guys".

Again, we are very happy with the final product, and we would recommend Mathis Custom Remodeling highly if you are looking for detail-oriented perfectionism by a true craftsman at a fair price.

Read More

 1 Like    February 28, 2016   Last modified: February 28, 2016

rreedon

Relationship: Client

Project Date: April 2015

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

Mathis Custom Remodeling provided design plans and made suggestions consistent with our needs.

We had our kitchen renovation handled professionally from start to finish. Specific remodel plans were prepared, including relocating the refrigerator and creating a much needed coffee bar. All materials were selected by the team's designer including paint, tile, counter tops and new lighting. The job turned out great. There were no delays in the process that were caused by the contractor. They were extremely neat and clean and allowed us the maximum possible usage of our kitchen during construction. I wish I had known about Mathis Custom Remodeling for our previous remodeling projects.

Read More

 1 Like    February 11, 2016

stillwater34

Relationship: Client

Project Date: July 2015

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

Accurate quote, reasonable and on time. Very no hassle, especially after the remodeling horror stories we've heard (and sort of expected) but we had none of that. I wish some back and forth communication was a little quicker for a response at times but that's a minor issue considering the scope of the kitchen remodel (with full demo) we had done. Good work.

 Like    November 24, 2015   Last modified: November 24, 2015

Comment from Mathis Custom Remodeling

Thank you so much for the positive review. Your new kitchen is beautiful and we all enjoyed seeing the amazing transformation!

November 25, 2015

beeperhoh

Relationship: Client

Project Date: September 2014

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

This was a bathroom remodel in a 60 year old block home on the southeast side of Mt Helix. We knew from the beginning that nothing in this project was going to be easy. Phil and Raelene Mathis proved to be a great fit for this project. Phil gave us the most realistic and complete estimate of all the many contractors we contacted. There were some very hard problems that Phil had to deal with but he not only finished right on time but within budget. Phil was a very easy person to work with and all of his subcontractors were great also, they were all just as likeable as Phil and Raelene. The bathroom was spectacular when finished. We would highly recommend them to all.
There were not any major hold ups or workmanship problems.
These are nice people and they did a great job.
Bill & Betty

Read More

 1 Like    November 17, 2014

Comment from Mathis Custom Remodeling

Thank you so much! We agree your new bathroom is spectacular!
Phil & Raelene

November 21, 2014

robertvint

Relationship: Client

Project Date: September 2014

Project Price: $10,000 - $49,999

We came into this project with our own ideas, our own plans, and our own selection of materials. This is sometimes not a good situation for the contractor, but Mathis was very understanding and cooperative and readily embraced our project goals.

The project involved removal of the existing tub, replacing it with a shower and; removal of the existing shower, replacing it with a closet. During one of the planning meetings, Phil and Raeline suggested that the closet be finished off with a pocket door. The result was we ended up with a spacious walk in closet with full tile floor, baseboards and Phil's custom made shelving all showcased with a pocket door with full length glass. Very impressive.

During the project we were allowed to work closely with the crew, offering opinions and making suggestions, and being involved in such things as tile design and materials purchases. This interaction was readily accepted and we were especially impressed by the excellent results given us by the tile crew led by Adam. He is a true perfectionist who analyzed our suggestions and worked them into his own professional ideas to give us a master bath which will definitely enjoy, but will enhance the value of our home.

The contractor insists on minimizing the disruption of your household while they are working; control the dust and other usual construction drawbacks; and exercises thorough clean up practices on a daily basis to allow you to live in somewhat normal conditions when they are not working.

We will definitely recommend Mathis to anyone !

Read More

 2 Likes    November 11, 2014

 

 

 

 

 

Poject Price: $10,000-$49,999

We recently contracted with Mathis remodel to restore and upgrade the main bathroom in our historical home. The results are nothing short of extraordinary! From the studs out custom fitting of new period fixtures, exquisite detailed tiling, to the new shower and custom cabinetry. The work featured keen attention to detail, thoughtful design and quality touches throughout. We couldn't be more happy with our new bathroom and enthusiastically endorse Mathis remodel for any home project!!

 

 0 Likes    September 15, 2014   Last modified: September 16, 2014

 

http://st.houzz.com/simgs/f8d330e50363dd5b_0-3660/judith_lechner.jpg

Judith Lechner

Relationship: Client

Project Date: February 2014

Project Price: $10,000-$49,999

Mathis Custom Remodeling was recommended to me by my daughter. She had a very good result when she hired Phil Mathis to remodel her shower. We hired him to remodel both of our very small bathrooms as well as replace interior doors, etc. Our home was built in 1958 and was last remodeled about 25 years ago. Phil and his team were wonderful and designed rooms which perfectly fit all of our needs. There are additional pictures on the website under R & J Fletcher Hills. Phil is very detailed, cleaned up very well after every day's work. I would welcome questions from anyone considering a remodel project.

http://st.houzz.com/simgs/d442b3780363e1a9_5-4763/home-design.jpg

 0 Likes    May 2, 2014

http://st.houzz.com/simgs/9453ccdb017d743e_0-4994/mathiscustomremodelingsandiego.jpg

Comment from Mathis Custom Remodeling

Thank you so much for the review, and thank you for letting us come back to take more photos!

May 6, 2014

http://www.houzz.com/res/2035/pic/user_0.png?v=2035

stacyeaj

Relationship: Client

Project Date: August 2013

Project Price: $1,000-$9,999

I recently purchased a home and needed a complete shower replacement of an old roman bath that barely operated. Since my shower was not a standard replacement, I knew I was going to need some custom work. I contacted Mathis Custom Remodeling due to their extremely high ratings on yelp.

This was my first experience with remodeling and I was pleasantly surprised how personable and responsive Phil and his team were. Pretty soon into the process I learned that Phil's knowledge and expertise expanded way beyond the original remodeling project and I ended up hiring him for several more projects in my house.

I was so extremely elated at the final result of my new shower. It is truly a work of art. I highly recommend Phil and his team to do any custom remodelling. He pays attention to detail, offers advice when asked, does a first-rate professional job, and there were no surprises on my bill. Great Work!!!

Read More 

 0 Likes    September 4, 2013

http://www.houzz.com/res/2035/pic/user_0.png?v=2035

apease3

Relationship: Client

Project Date: August 2013

Project Price: $1,000-$9,999

Phil Mathis replaced my shower in my guest bathroom. He did a great job, and I love the finished look. He took great care during the remodeling to protect the hardwood floors and keep things clean throughout the project. He was considerate, professional and I would use him again for future jobs.

 0 Likes    September 2, 2013

http://www.houzz.com/res/2035/pic/user_0.png?v=2035

ladyadie

Relationship: Client

Project Date: January 2013

Project Price: $1,000-$9,999

Review of Mathis Custom Remodeling: We contracted with Phil Mathis in August, 2004 to completely remodel our master bath. The price was competitive and the workmanship was excellent. We selected Phil to remodel our second bath in November, 2006 - a major undertaking. Good price and another excellent job! Just recently (January, 2013), we had Phil modernize our living room, dining room, hallway and entryway. Not only does Phil do excellent work, he has also provided us with design ideas and advice. We are very satisfied with his results. We plan to continue to work with Phil in the future. Adrienne & Joe Liermann San Carlos/Lake Murray

Read More 

 0 Likes    September 2, 2013   Last modified: September 2, 2013

 

Phil is a true craftsman. He knows how to do anything. He is 100 % knowledgeable about everything. I would hire him tomorrow if I needed it. I already have him scheduled to work for me again in the future. He is very personable. I have been using him for 10 years. So I am a repeat customer.

                                                                                                                                                          Guild Quality Review

                                                                                                                                                          Cheryl C Aug. 2013

 

A Contractor You Can Trust

Mathis Remodeling is very easy to work with and delivers excellent work at reasonable prices. Our bathroom project was everything we had hoped for and more. Highly recommend Phil and his suggested sources.

Resident2010

Kudzu.com 7/21/2010

Highly Recommended

Mathis Custom Remodeling has now done three (3) bathroom remodels for us along with several various incidental jobs, interior and exterior. Phil has always been professional and is a pro at working with you to get the job done timely and within cost. We're glad to highly recommend Mathis Custom Remodeling for your bathroom remodeling needs and other general contracting assistance!

JCinTierrasan

Kudzu.com 7/16/2010

Great work

Very pleased with quality of work. Very reasonably priced. Work was finished on time as promised. Area kept very neat and clean while job being done. Would definitely use for future jobs.

Pamela_wasserman

Kudzu.com 7/16/2010

Trustworthy and Dependable

Phillip Mathis and his crew of home remodeling specialists have been great!! Delivering quality workmanship and value to our home bathroom remodel. I highly recommend them for any home remodel needs. Project was completed with no hassles, on time, on budget, and with complete professionalism -- a rare quality now days. As a bonus, the jobsite was left clean as a whistle at the end of each work day something you rarely see during construction or remodels! Great guys to work with.

MikeinSanDiego

Kudzu.com 2/9/2010 

Very Pleased

We are very pleased with the work we have had done by Mathis Custom Remodeling. Phil Mathis has been doing various works for us for over two years. He was initially recommended to us by another contractor and we have used his services ever since. He does quality work, has reasonable prices, is trust worthy, polite, extremely knowledgeable, and we would recommend him to anyone, in fact we have several times.

Phyllis W.

Yelp.com 6/13/2010

Can't Go Wrong

You really can't go wrong with Mathis Custom Remodeling! This was my first remodeling experience and I was very meticulous about who I selected to remodel my master bathroom. After interviewing half-dozen contractors, I knew that Mathis Custom Remodeling was the perfect choice.

Several things that really impressed me about Mathis Custom Remodeling:

1) Tile and cabinet contractors were unbelievable. Material was of the highest quality and the craftsmanship was flawless.
2) Design suggestions and changes throughout the entire project. Since I have never gone through the remodeling process before, it was a nice to have to the flexibility to make changes and still stay within budget.
3) Willingness to look for the best quality products and fixtures at the best price on behalf of the customer.

Dedicated to client satisfaction, Phil and his crew worked tirelessly to make sure that I was completely satisfied with the finished product. The bottom line.....you get a contractor who is honest and cares about you and your project.

Mathis Custom Remodeling was worth every penny. My master bathroom is simply spectacular!

David J.

Yelp.com 3/2/2011

 

 

I like the fact that Mathis Custom Remodeling is very trustworthy. I have very high confidence in him and the quality of work that he does. He has been doing work for me for about 30 years. Originally I heard about him through a friend of his.

Margaret Pauley

Guild Quality Review

7/2013

Sandi C. San Diego, CA Review Jul 24, 2013 5 star rating

The owner, Phil, is extremely professional and he works very cleanly, which is important. All of the subcontractors were the very best. Phil was very ethical and he delivers more than he promises.I was satisfied with everything. It is a really great company and I can't think of a single negative.


Guild Quality Review

 

 

Note All of our past customers who have posted a review for us are also on our referal list and can be contacted for for more information.

Contractors state License # 665399

Class B General Building, Class C-36 Plumbing

 

Mathis Custom Remodeling
6771 Jackson Dr.
San Diego, CA 92119

Located in the La Mesa area. Serving all of San Diego County for over 25 years.

 

Privacy Notice